For further information or advice please Email the Webmaster

This is a non profit
site. Any infringement
of copyright or
intellectual property,
is unintentional.

Most covers can be
displayed as a
larger image,
in a new window,
by clicking on
the image.

Hosting at

Updated: 04/10/2009

2000 Premiership

The year 2000 proved to be best ever for the Bombers. The not only won the day premiership but also captured the pre-season premiership. On top of this Mathew Lloyd won the Coleman Medal for the leading goal kicker and James Hird won the Norm Smith Medal for the best player a field in the Grand FInal.

2000 Essendon Premiership Cover

Throughout the season they broke a multitude of records. They won more matches 24 out of 25 for the season than any club before. The won the first 20 matches of the season. They stayed on top of the ladder for the whole season. They scored the highest score ever in the finals against North Melbourne.

The only low light of the season was the retirement of Darren Bewick, "Boris" after 232 games.

One of the major reasons for Essendon's success was the great form of Dustin Fletcher. He won th W S Crichton Medal for the Dons Best and Fairest.

This had been won in 1999 by Mark Mecuri.