For further information or advice please Email the Webmaster

This is a non profit
site. Any infringement
of copyright or
intellectual property,
is unintentional.

Most covers can be
displayed as a
larger image,
in a new window,
by clicking on
the image.

Hosting at

Updated: 29/09/2009

Port Adelaide

The Port Adelaide Football Club was formed in 1870 . They played their first game against a team called the Young Australians. They joined the South Australian Football Association in 1877. Its name was changed to the South Australian Football League in 1907 and to the South Australian National Football League (SANFL) in 1927.

Port Adelaide has been the most successful senior football team in Australia having won 34 premierships, including three SANFL Flags from 1994 to 1996 and another two in 1998 and 1999.

Its passage into the AFL was a turbulent one. In 1990 Port made a bold move to join the AFL as South Australia's first team after the SANFL Directors had turned down an offer from the AFL. This triggered the formation of the Adelaide Crows. In 1996 Port Adelaide was named as the next expansion team but only if another AFL team folded. Fortunately for them Fitzroy's financial problems led to that very option and Port Adelaide entered the AFL in 1997.

As their symbol the Magpie was already claimed by Collingwood so Port changed to "Port Adelaide" with a hand holding a lightning bolt and added silver and teal to their famous black and white.

Port's home ground is the Alberton Oval, which it still uses as its AFL training facility. It now plays its home games at Football Park.

Their first official game was an Ansett Cup Pre-season game against Fremantle. The occasion was marked by the production of 100 covers (see below) postmarked with the Football Park PM.

First Port Power Ansett Cup game

Their first official AFL match was against Collingwood at the MCG before a crowd of 51,883 spectators. The long awaited showdown, the local derby, against the Adelaide Crows was their second win from four games and the pundits who predicted Port would finish at the bottom of the ladder already had egg on their faces. It took only 12 rounds before the Power were able to win away from home, at the MCG against the Western Bulldogs. By the season end, Port had only missed the finals by 2 points and finished 9th, a huge effort in their first year.

The cover below is one of 50 covers showing the year in review with all the results for 1997.

First Port Power year in review

The results of the Best and Fairest were also represented by the release of 50 covers (shown Below). It was deservedly won by Darren Mead in his first season who played all 22 games. The Norwich Rising Star award, for the Best Young Player, was won by Michael Wilson, who also played 22 games in his first season of AFL.

First Port Power Best and Fairest

Their second year saw them finish 10th. In the next year, 1999 they improved and finished in the Final eight for the first time. Unfortunately they lost the knockout final (back of postcard) at the MCG (front of postcard) to the Kangaroos by 44 points. 2000 was again disappointing with them finishing 14th.

The 25th May 2000 marked  the release of club and individual 2000 Personalised Stamps.

The 2001 Pre-season Ansett Cup saw Port Adelaide win its first trophy with an easy victory over the Brisbane Lions. It was the first time an AFL Grand Final had been played outside Melbourne and the first time that no Victorian team was playing. Adam Kingsley won the Michael Tuck Medal for the Best player.

Continuing on from their Preseason success, Port Adelaide, enjoyed their best season finishing third after the home and away season but failing to win a final. On the 30th March their 2001 Personalised Stamps were issued.

The 2002 Pre-season Wizard home Loans Cup saw Port Adelaide win its second trophy with a victory over the Richmond Tigers. Nick Stevens won the Michael Tuck Medal for the Best player. (Cover 2)

After the disappointment of failing to win a game in the finals Port have swept all before it in 2002. On the 15th May the 2002 Personalised Stamps were released.

After loosing both finals in 2001, and a surprise home loss to Collingwood in the Qualifying final, Ports season was on the line when they met Essendon on the 13th September 2002. They prevailed and won 11.17.83 to 8.11.59. They then earnt the right to play Brisbane in the Preliminary Final. A Set of Commemorative covers were released by First Class Collectables. The players on the covers were Shaun Burgoyne, Peter Burgoyne, Roger James, Warren Tredrea, Che Cockatoo-Collins, Nick Stevens, Matthew Primus, Chad Cornes and Kane Cornes

2003 started with the Power again looking to top the ladder. In April the 2003 Personalised Stamps  were released. They were successful in both Showdowns and ended on top of the ladder. They again fell short in the preliminary final with a loss to Collingwood after an initial loss to Sydney. Gavin Wanganeen and Warren Tredrea made the All Australian Team.

2004 started with the Power one of the favourite for the flag. In mid April the 2004 Personalised Stamps were released. This year they were a booklet of 20 stamps showing 10 players, rather than the A4 sheet. On the 31st May 2004 Gavin Wanganeen played his 300th AFL Game. Chad Cornes and Warren Tredrea were named in the All Australian Team.

For the third year in a row the Power ended on top of the ladder. However unlike the previous two seasons  Port Adelaide won their way into their First Grand Final by defeating St Kilda by 6 points. They played the Lions who were going for four in a row. Despite being underdogs the Power pulled away in the last quarter to win their First Premiership by 40 points.

On the 1st April 2005 the Port Adelaide Power booklet of the 2005 Personalised Stamps was released. The Indigenous Team Of the Century was named at a lavish function at the Palladium on the 1st August 2005. First Class Collectables produced a set of covers. Signed player covers were Gavin Wanganeen and Byron Pickett. First Class Collectables issued covers  to commemorate the Best and Fairest winners including Warren Tredrea,

On the 20th March 2006 the Power booklet of the 2006 Personalised Stamps was released. Onlycovers released the Captains series with covers including Warren Tredrea. Round 16 was the Heritage Round with clubs wearing jumpers from a previous era. Onlycovers released a cover for each club including the Port Adelaide FC. The NAB Rising Star winner was announced on the 6th September 2006.It was Port Adelaide's Danyle Pearce. A commemorative Cover was released by Onlycovers.

The Power played off in the Grand Final in 2007 loosing by a record margin to Geelong. Australia Post issuing the 2007 Personalised Stamps. 2008 and 2009 were rebuilding years with them finishing in the bottom half of the ladder. Australia Post changed from the Prestige Booklet to the Folder format issuing the 2008 Personalised Stamps and 2009 Personalised Stamps.