For further information or advice please Email the Webmaster

This is a non profit
site. Any infringement
of copyright or
intellectual property,
is unintentional.

Most covers can be
displayed as a
larger image,
in a new window,
by clicking on
the image.

Hosting at

Updated: 24/09/2006

Australian Football Carnivals

As Australian Football is essentially an Australian Game it has lacked from the inability to play international teams. To try and replace this top eschalot of Football there have been the Australian Football carnivals.

The first in Melbourne in 1908 involved the six states and New Zealand. which won two games. Victoria dominated the initial carnivals winning in 1908, 1914, 1924, 1927, 1930, 1933, 1937, 1947, 1950, 1953, 1956, 1958, 1966, 1969, 1972, 1975, 1980. South Australia won in 1911 and 1988. Western Australia won in 1921, 1961 and 1979.

Initially all states played but after 1961 it became a two divisional system. The last carnival was the 1988 Bicentennial Carnival in Adelaide and since the State of Origin Concept has become more popular. Since 1995 it has consisted of Victoria, South Australia, Western Australia and The Allies made up of players from the other states and territories.

Bicentenial Carnival 1988

The Bicentennial Carnival was celebrated with a Special Cachet on the Bicentennial PSE with the Adelaide PM of the Bicentennial Exhibition. (PM 1456) It is shown above. Covers also exist with red stamp.